News, Discussion, Events


Topic Replies Created
Office Hours: The Invisible Labour of OER (25 April 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC)

Topic: The Invisible Labour of OER When: Thursday, April 25, 2019, 2 pm EST / 11 am PST / 6 pm UTC Guest Speakers: Ali Versluis (Open Education Resources Librarian, University of Guelph), Monica Brown (OER Coordinator,…

3 March 21, 2019
Who’s your OER superstar?

Who have you always looked up to in the world of OER? What makes them special, in your opinion? And if they’re here in the discussion, don’t forget to @mention them!

2 March 19, 2019
Spotlight: Up and comers in OER!

The Open Education movement has been growing tremendously, and that means that there are many new people doing great work. Take a moment to highlight someone you know who deserves some recognition. Describe their contrib…

2 March 19, 2019
Beyond OER: What other kinds of openness are present in your life?

Where else does the concept of ‘openness’ play out in your life? Is it similar or different to the openness of OER, and what makes it important, challenging, or rewarding to you?

2 March 19, 2019
What’s your favourite educational memory?

Because we all go through different educational systems, there is much to be shared about great models of teaching and learning. Tell the community about the best moments from your educational experience, and what made t…

2 March 19, 2019
Tell your story

The world of OER is full of stories. Tell us yours, and how ‘open’ and ‘education’ play out in other parts of your life.

2 March 19, 2019
Drop-in Webinar (19 Apr. 2019, 12pm EST / 4pm UTC) 2 April 3, 2019
Drop-in Webinar (17 May 2019, 12pm EST / 4pm UTC) 1 April 19, 2019
Office Hours: Strategies for Dealing with Invisible Labour (21 May 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC) 1 April 17, 2019
New blog post by David Szanto "Opening Up a Can of...Marketing" 1 April 16, 2019
Beta Call: Friday, 12 April, 12 pm EST 6 March 29, 2019
Beta Call: Wednesday, 24 April, 12pm EST 1 April 12, 2019
New Blog Post by Zoe Wake Hyde "The (non-profit) business of connecting people through technology" 3 April 11, 2019
New Blog Post by Apurva Ashok "A Shared Belief in Publishing Openly" 1 April 8, 2019
After Hours with Hugh McGuire (2 April 2019, 4:30pm EST/ 8:30pm UTC) 6 March 26, 2019
New Blog Post by Hugh McGuire "Making books to build communities, building communities to make books." 1 April 2, 2019
Office Hours: Publishing Programs on Campus (21 March 2019, 5pm EST/ 9pm UTC) 3 March 19, 2019
New Blog Post about Rebus Community Renovations 3 March 26, 2019
Office Hours: Recruiting Authors for Open Textbooks (Feb. 22) 2 February 10, 2017
Office Hours: Making Open Textbooks with Students (Jan. 31) 2 January 4, 2017
OpenEd 2017 Meetup? 1 October 4, 2017
I'm an instructional designer. Ask me anything (7 March. 2019, 2 pm-3:30 pm EST / 11 am-12:30 pm PST) 85 February 21, 2019
sample language to plan for revisions 2 March 7, 2019
Drop-in webinar (15 Mar. 2019, 12pm EST/ 5pm UTC) 1 February 28, 2019
Drop-in webinar (15 Feb. 2019, 12pm EST/ 5pm UTC) 2 January 10, 2019
Office Hours: Developing Maintenance Plans for Published Open Textbooks (21 February 2019, 2 pm EST/ 11 am PST) 1 February 12, 2019
Office Hours: OER Policy Redux (31 January 2019, 11 a.m PST / 2 p.m EST) 2 January 7, 2019
Drop-in webinar (18 Jan. 2019, 12pm EST / 5pm UTC) 1 January 9, 2019
Drop-in webinar (12 Dec. 2018, 12pm EST / 5:00pm UTC) 1 November 30, 2018
Office Hours: License to...? (November 29, 11 a.m PST / 2 p.m EST) 5 November 15, 2018