Office Hours: Facilitating Classroom Review of Open Textbooks

Topic: Facilitating Classroom Review of Open Textbooks
When: Thursday, 20 February 2020, 2 pm ET / 11 am PT / 6 pm UTC TODAY!
Guest Speakers: Ian McDermott (Coordinator of Library Instruction, Associate Professor, LaGuardia Community College, CUNY), Jared Robinson (Research Associate, McGill University; Former Primary Researcher, Open Education Group), Andre Mount (Associate Professor of Music Theory, Crane School of Music, SUNY Potsdam).

OER publishing involves a lot of moving parts, so it can sometimes be easy to forget the big picture: how will instructors and students experience this OER in classrooms? Will it help students learn what the author or faculty want them to know? One way to find out is to ask them directly. In this session, we’ll talk about reviewing open textbooks in the classroom. How can an author or colleague facilitate review in a way that is productive, helpful, and safe for students? How might it be different from peer review? What are the best mechanisms for collecting and integrating feedback? How do faculty decide which suggestions should be implemented, and when?

Please RSVP below if you can join the session:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://zoom.us/j/139688563. Please note that the session will be recorded.

1 Like