Office Hours: More than a Button: Getting Open Textbooks into Print (27 June 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC)

Topic: More than a Button: Getting Open Textbooks into Print
When: Thursday, 27 June, 2019, 2 pm EST / 11 am PST / 6 pm UTC
Guest Speakers: Amanda Wentworth (OER Publishing Coordinator, SUNY); Jonathan Lashley (Senior Instructional Technologist, Boise State University); Elizabeth Mays (Director of Sales & Marketing, Pressbooks); and Brian Mosher (Director, Chemeketa Press).

While digital technologies offer a host of exciting possibilities for OER, there’s still just something special about print. From enabling reliable offline access to evoking that feeling of holding a “real” book—printed OER are an important part of the ecosystem. In this session, our guests will explore some of the practical elements of getting open textbooks into print, including assessing print-on-demand suppliers, on-campus printing options, ISBNs, dealing with bookstores, and creating print covers. We will also touch on the importance of print books as an accessible option for students, a handy marketing tool, a thank you gift for contributors, and a marker of legitimacy in certain contexts.

Please RSVP below if you can join the session:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://zoom.us/j/100680077. Please note that the session will be recorded.

1 Like