Office Hours: Starting an Open Textbook Project (19 September 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC)

Topic: Starting an Open Textbook Project
When: Thursday, 19 September 2019, 2 pm EST / 11 am PST / 6 pm UTC
Guest Speakers: Karen Bjork (Head of Digital Initiatives, Portland State University Library), Kathleen Labadorf (former Open Educational Resources and Social Sciences Librarian, University of Connecticut), Katie Kirakosian (Adjunct lecturer, Department of Anthropology, UMass Amherst), Allison Brown (Digital Publishing Services Manager, SUNY Geneseo), and Deborah Amory (Professor & Chair, Department of Social Science and Public Affairs, SUNY Empire State College).

Getting an OER creation project off the ground requires planning, patience, and a tolerance for uncertainty. In this Office Hours session, our guests will share the details of how their particular open textbook project came to be, and what they’ve learned trying to get things off the ground in both the lead author and project manager roles. We’ll hear from people who’ve published in a variety of ways, and defined project roles and support to suit their contexts and available resources. We’ll also hear what went as planned (or not!), and how their expectations were met and upended, and how they celebrated the milestones along the way (#SmallWins and big!).

Please RSVP below if you can join the session:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://zoom.us/j/907875158. Please note that the session will be recorded.