Office Hours: Strategies for Dealing with Invisible Labour (21 May 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC)

office-hours
(Apurva Ashok) #1

Topic: Strategies for Dealing with Invisible Labour
When: Tuesday, May 21, 2019, 2 pm EST / 11 am PST / 6 pm UTC
Guest Speakers: Carla Myers (Assistant Librarian/Coordinator of Scholarly Communication, Miami University); Matthew DeCarlo (Assistant Professor of Social Work, Radford University); Tanya Spilovoy (Director, Open Policy, WICHE Cooperative for Educational Technologies); and others, TBD.

Open Educational Resources exist because people decide to create and share them, which takes work. Join us for a continued conversation about the invisible labour involved in open education. In this session, we’ll focus on strategies to move your initiatives forward in this environment. Guests will share strategies for making work visible within your department and organization. They will discuss how they incorporated OER into their job descriptions, developed techniques for examining and restructuring work relationships to reduce emotional investment, and advocated for sustainable budgets and staffing, especially for growing programs.

This is the second in a two-part series looking at labour in OER. On April 25th at 2 pm EST (6 pm UTC), we will begin this conversation by discussing the challenges of “invisible” labour in OER. For more details about the first session, please visit: Office Hours: The Invisible Labour of OER (25 April 2019, 2pm EST/ 6pm UTC).

Please RSVP below if you can join the session:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://zoom.us/j/663654442. Please note that the session will be recorded.