Office Hours: Talking to Students about Open Licenses (20 August 2020, 2pm ET/6pm UTC)

Topic: Talking to Students about Open Licenses
When: 20 August 2020, 2pm ET/11 am PT
Guests: James Glapa-Grossklag (Dean, Educational Technology, Learning Resources and Distance Learning; Project Director, Distance Education Captioning & Transcription Grant; Ambassador for Global Advocacy of OER, ICDE, College of the Canyons), Lindsey Gumb (Assistant Professor & Scholarly Communications Librarian, Roger Williams University), Amanda Larson (Affordable Learning Instructional Consultant, Ohio State University), and others, TBD.

In this Office Hours session, we will talk about licensing conversations within an open pedagogy framework. Creative Commons open licenses are integral to OER, but can sometimes be difficult to understand, especially when first introduced. Usually, selecting the license that is best for each creator and creation involves education and reflection. What are effective ways for talking with students about their licensing options, especially when part of an assignment or class project? Licensing intersects with many higher education issues, including privilege, and must be evaluated in each specific context. Our guests will share their experiences designing and assigning open pedagogy projects with students, and specifically how they approached questions around licensing.

Please RSVP in the form below:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://bit.ly/2CGOF5o. Please note that the session will be recorded.