Office Hours: Tenure and Promotion in OER (21 November 2019, 2pm ET/ 6pm UTC)

Topic: Tenure and Promotion in OER
When: Thursday, 21 November 2019, 2 pm ET / 11 am PT / 6 pm UTC
Guest Speakers: Mark Poepsel (Associate Professor, Department of Mass Communications, Southern Illinois University Edwardsville), Jaclyn Stewart (Senior Instructor, Department of Chemistry; Deputy Academic Director of the Centre for Teaching, Learning and Technology, University of British Columbia, Vancouver), and Jonathan Poritz (Associate Professor, Department of Mathematics and Physics; Director and Data Analyst, Center for Teaching and Learning, Colorado State University – Pueblo; Chair Emeritus, Colorado OER Council, Colorado Department of Higher Education)

Incentives play a big role in academic work, and adequately rewarding OER creation can sometimes mean leveraging existing incentive structures. This month, we continue our exploration of compensation models by looking at tenure and promotion, one of the most significant incentive structures at many institutions. In this session we will explore how OER can be integrated into tenure and promotion guidelines, how it can feature in an individual faculty member’s application, and why, perhaps, we shouldn’t worry too much about it at all. Our guests will share their experiences as OER advocates navigating a system designed with other priorities in mind, and help inspire their peers to consider how OER work might combine (or not!) with the pursuit of tenure at their institutions.

Please RSVP below if you can join the session:

To join the call on the day of, please go to https://zoom.us/j/921209055. Please note that the session will be recorded.